Some good reads…..

I have been a reader all my life. There are always at least one but as many as 3 or 4 books on my night stand and I can be actively reading all of them. If I travel I take books with me. Fiction is what inspired me to write. Telling a story in a way that mesmerizes, draws the reader in and creates a desire to get to know the characters, places and be in on the events that happen is a true art in my opinion. Of the 3 books currently on my nightstand I wanted to recommend two, one fiction and the other non-fiction/research.

Fiction first. “The Martini Shot” by George Pelecanos is a great read by a great write. Pelecanos wrote for my all time favorite HBO series, “The Wire” set in Baltimore (Bodymore). If you haven’t seen that series you should. His style is clean, crisp and gritty. This particular work is a collection of short stories and a novella that is the title piece. I highly recommend it.

Okay, next… get ready to have your eyes opened regarding all of “heart healthy” whole grains you are eating. “Wheat Belly” is a research piece by Dr. William Davis. His style is filled with deep research but presented in a very readable way (for the most part). At times the technical content can be a bit thick but stay with it as it holds the results together well. This book opened my eyes to the impact of wheat on the human diet in a big way. When you learn what has happened to wheat over the last 50+ years and how it is affecting the human body with respect to insulin and fat storage you may want to join me if getting off the wheat. Don’t be surprised if it is hard to do (I am in week 3 and rolling off the hardest part into actually feeling better). Even if you decide that you want to keep eating wheat, you should know how it is affecting you.

I will occasionally add more book reviews as time goes on. If you like that please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Some good reads…..

  1. I always love a good book review! I’ve been considering reading Wheat Belly for awhile, I keep seeing it pop up everywhere.

    Have you ever considered adding the goodreads widget to your sidebar? It’s a great website to track your reading. 🙂

    • Thank you Zen… I am working through all of the “look and feel” aspects of my blog page and will definitely add the goodreads widget. I wasn’t sure that book reviews would be a part of my blog but I am learning that my blog is me, not some perception of me. Appreciate your comment.

Leave a Reply

